Beaming graduands were received by our Chancellor over a glorious three-days of ceremonies 15, 16, 17 July, in the Great Hall.

We also honoured some rather talented people whose distinguished achievements give something for graduates to aspire to.

Honorary graduates, July 2009

(Please click on the images to view a larger version)

Sir Terry Pratchet OBESir Terry Pratchet OBE, Author

Sir Terry received an honorary Doctor of Letters for his work as a science fiction and fantasy writer. He was also recognised for his contribution in raising awareness of the very real need for research and funding for Alzheimer's disease and for his outstanding donation to the Alzheimer's Research Trust.

Peter Firth, ActorPeter Firth, Actor

Peter Firth received an honorary Doctor of Letters for his contributions as an actor. Born in Bradford, Peter was a leading child actor by mid-1970, starring in 'The Flaxton Boys' as Archie Weekes and a television series called 'Here Come the Double Deckers'. In 1973 he earned an Academy Award nomination for Best Supporting Actor and the same at the Golden Globe Awards.

Geetha Upadhyaya, Artistic Director and CEO of Kala SangamGeetha Upadhyaya, Artistic Director and CEO of Kala Sangam

Geetha Upadhyaya received an honorary Doctor of Letters in recognition of her achievements as Artistic Director and CEO of Kala Sangam, in particular for her work in promoting South Asian and interdisciplinary arts in Bradford and across the country and in embracing cultural harmony and diversity.

Matt Lamb, ArtistMatt Lamb, Artist

His paintings colour the walls of the Atrium. Matt received an honorary Doctor of Letters for his distinctive contributions to contemporary art. In addition, in recognition of his work as an activist for world peace, in particular through 'The Lamb Umbrellas for Peace' programme reaching out to schoolchildren across the globe and promoting harmony between members of different religious faiths.

Colin Parry OBE and Wendy ParryColin Parry OBE and Wendy Parry

Colin and Wendy were made honorary Doctors of the University for their outstanding work as Co-Founders of the Tim Parry Johnathan Ball Foundation for Peace. They were recognised for their dedication in promoting the work of the Foundation and its objectives and tirelessly working towards furthering better understanding and peaceful relations among peoples of the world.

Jan Fletcher OBE, Chairwoman of Montpellier EstatesJan Fletcher OBE, Chairwoman of Montpellier Estates

Jan Fletcher was be made an honorary Doctor of Letters for her contributions to employment and enterprise in Yorkshire. This includes her work as an ambassador for the region in the field of international business and for services to industry.

Alan JeromeAlan Jerome

Alan Jerome was made an honorary Doctor of the University for his exceptional contributions as a Pro-Chancellor and member of the University of Bradford Council. He was also be recognised for his services to the local and wider community in the city and district of Bradford; as a founding Councillor of Bradford Metropolitan District Council, and Chair and long-standing member of the Governors of Bradford Grammar School.

John MatherJohn Mather

John Mather received an honorary Doctor of Science for his distinguished and long-standing contributions to ornithology, both in Yorkshire and on a worldwide basis. He was born in Nidderdale in 1930 and moved to Knaresborough in the early years of his childhood with his parents, where he has lived ever since.

Other photos from the three days